Best Medical Student Receives N250,000 Cheque


A cheque of N250, 000 had been presented to Dr Adamu Bara, having emerged the best Medical Student from The College of Health Sciences, University of Abuja (UniAbuja) on Sunday. Dr Bara is among the 18 pioneer medical students of the institution.

Presenting the cheque in Abuja during the induction of the pioneer medical doctors of UniAbuja into the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN), Provost of the college, Prof. Kareem Airede, said the gesture is to commend his outstanding academic performance throughout his stay in the medical school.

He assured the inductees that they would commence as pre-registration house officers on Dec. 4, 2017 and tasked them on competence, good character and compassion to patients.

The Registrar of MDCN, Dr Tajudeen Sanusi, who commended Bara for the outstanding performance, urged the new doctors to maintain the courage and resilience toward achieving the goal of saving lives.

Responding to the gesture, Bara thanked the institution and assured the Management of UniAbuja, Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN) to uphold the highest level of integrity in carrying out his duties as a Medical practitioner.

Earlier, Prof. Michael Adikwu, the Vice Chancellor of UniAbuja, had commended the inductees for their courage throughout the 12 years to acquire MBBS as against the normal six years of studying medicine.

Adikwu emphasized that though it took longer than required; it was well spent, adding that such courage and determination would spur them to greater height.

Prof. Joseph Otubu, the Foundation Provost of CHS, urged the new doctors to uphold the oath of fairness, honesty and respect for humanity which he described as general principles of the profession.

He urged the young medical and dental practitioners to always respect their senior colleagues and look up to them for guidance.

According to him, “Older members should consider the younger ones as their colleagues and strive to set good examples and moral guidance at all times and this duty should manifest in all situations.’’

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the 18 new inductees are
Dr Adamu Bara, Dr Etuk Etim, Dr Uguneji Okechukwu, Dr Agbo Enotse, Dr Wandoo Abwa, Dr Imam Abubakar, Dr Folakemi Ayodele, Dr Yaqub Abdulmuthalib, Dr Oghenekevwe Tereben and Dr Elizabeth Adesida.

Others are Dr Jude Chukwurah, Dr Oluwatosin Bisiriyu, Dr Uzoamaka Okoli, Dr Enitan Bello, Dr Anyang Inyang, Dr Samuel Ogwu, Dr Odiba Emmanuel and Dr Chibuzo Ejemeka.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here